About Us

Math shortcuts, Articles, worksheets, Exam tips, Question, Answers, FSc, BSc, MSc

More about us

Keep Connect with Us

  • =

Login to Your Account


The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is one of the most difficult and competitive examination in India conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). This is one of the most popular and tough category exams in India. The various recruitment for Civil Services of the Government of India are as following:

    All India Services (Group A)
  • Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
  • Indian Police Service (IPS)
  • Indian Forest Service (IFoS)
  • Central Services (Group A)
  • Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
  • Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IA&AS)
  • Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS)
  • Indian Corporate Law Service (ICLS)
  • Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
  • Indian Defence Estates Service (IDES)
  • Indian Information Service (IIS)
  • Indian Ordnance Factories Service (IOFS)
  • Indian Post & Telecommunication Accounts and Finance Service (IP&TAFS)
  • Indian Postal Service (IPoS)
  • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)
  • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
  • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS-IT)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS-C&CE)
  • Indian Trade Service (ITrS)
  • Railway Protection Force (RPF)
  • Group B Services
  • Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (AFHCS)
  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service (DANICS)
  • Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Service (DANIPS)
  • Pondicherry Civil Service
  • Pondicherry Police Service
    Age Limit
  • The upper age limit is relaxed for those candidates who are backward with respect to other factors and Physically Handicapped (PH) people.
  • The age limit for the Other Backward Castes (OBC) exam is 35 years
  • The age limit for the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes (SC and ST) is 37 years
  • The age limit for the Physically Handicapped persons (Blind, Deaf, Orthopedic) exam is 42 years
  • The age limit for the Jammu & Kashmir Domicile - General Category is 37 years OBC: 40 years, SC/ST: 42 years, PH: 50 years
  • Education Limit
  • The minimum education to appear in competitive examination is degree of graduation from any recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC).
  • The candidates who have appeared in the qualifying exam and are awaiting results are also eligible to apply, provided they submit the certificate of qualification along with the mark sheet to the UPSC before the main exam
  • Nationality Limit
  • For the IAS, IFS and IPS services the candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For IRS and other services, the candidate must be a citizen of India or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia,Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.
  • Number of Attempts
  • For General category candidates has 6 attempts
  • For OBC category candidates has 9 attempts
  • For SC/ST Candidates has unlimited attempts
  • For Physically Disabled (Blind, Deaf, Orthopedic) - General Category has 9 attempts


To pass the CSE exam candidates has to pass following three multiple stages.

  • A) CSE Prelims Examination
  • B) CSE Main Examination
  • C) Interview or personality test

Prelims Exam is consist of two objective type papers

1. General Studies (200 Marks)
- Its syllabus is Current events (National and International), History of India, Geography of the world (Physical, Social, Economic), Indian Polity and Governance-Constitution, Economic and Social Development, General Issues (Environmental Ecology, Bio-Diversity, Climate change etc.) and General Science
2. Aptitude Test (200 MarKS)
- Its syllabus is Comprehension, Interpersonal Skills, Logical Reasoning and Analytical Ability, Decision making and problem solving, General mental ability, Basic Numeracy, Data Interpretation

This is an objective exam and every wrong attempt will cost you 1/3rd marks of the attempted question. The minimum qualifying marks fixed at 33%. Eligible candidate for appearing in the Mains Examination.

The notification for Prelims comes in April and exam falls in August and result comes in September every year. The Mains exam falls in December and result is out mostly in Feb/ March every year.


After qualifying the Preliminary Examination candidates are allowed to attend the CSE mains exam. CSE main examination consist of nine subjective type papers of conventional (essay)


Two papers are qualifying papers are for qualifying written CSE main examination. These papers are qualifying only and marks obtained will not be considered or counted.

Code:Subjects:Total Marks:
1English Language Paper
(Comprehension, Precise Writing etc).
2Regional Language Paper
(Comprehension, Precise Writing etc).

Seven papers are for ranking paper for written CSE main examination. Marks of each paper is 250. So 1750 is total marks of ranking papers.

Code:Subjects:Total Marks:
(Essay Writting)
2General Studies I
(Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society)
3General Studies II
(Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)
4General Studies III
(Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management)
5General Studies IV
(Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)
6Optional Subject I
(UPSC has a list of 26 subjects)
7Optional Subject II
(UPSC has a list of 26 subjects)

The Interview or the Personality test of the Civil Services exam is conducted in Delhi at the UPSC office which is mostly conducted in months of March and April. Interview will be of 275 marks. Interview marks and ranking paper will be added and the final marks obtained in the examination are out of the grand total of 2025 marks.